General News

Ghana card mass registration at Ga East ends today

The Ghana card registration for residents in the Ga East municipality will end today [Saturday].

The National Identification Authority has thus announced centres where residents can go for their cards.

The NIA in a statement listed the municipalities below as new centres:

1. Ga South (Bortianor, Ngleshie, Amanfro).
2. Ga South (Weija, Gbawe, Domeabra/Obom)
3. Ga Central (Anyaa, Sowutuom)
4. Ga West (Trobu, Amasaman)
5. Ga North
6. Okaikoi South,
7. Okaikoi Central
8. Okaikoi North.
9. Ablekuma South,
10. Ablekuma Central
11. Ablekuma West
12. Ablekuma North.
13. Ashiedu Keteke

The NIA further indicated that the “persons who registered during the exercise and were not issued their Ghana Cards will be informed via text messages, phone calls, Radio and Television announcements about designated Ghana Card collection points for their cards.”

“Persons who were unable to register during the mass registration exercise in the Accra West Zone will be able to do so at District and Regional offices to be set up by NIA after the mass
registration exercise,” the statement said.

The NIA began the mass registration exercise on April 29 following the completion of the pilot phase.

There are however concerns about the processes adopted by the NIA leading to unnecessary long queues at registration centres.

The registration in the Greater Accra Region is expected to end on July 6.


Related Articles

Back to top button